James Monroe


Period 1 - English 8/A - Ms.Farge

By Paul Kerdpinyo

James Monroe was the fifth president of the United States (1817-1825). James Monroe's nicknames were "The Last Cocked Hat" and "Era-Of-Good-Feeling President". James Monroe was born on April 28, 1758, in Westmoreland County,Virgina. James Monroe died July 4, 1831, in New York.

James Monroe got married to Elizabeth Kortright (1768-1830), on February 16, 1786 and he had three kids. Their names were Eliza Kortright Monroe (1786-1835), James Spence Monroe (1799-1800), and Maria Hester Monroe (1803-50).

He graduated from The College of William and Mary in 1776. He was a Lawyer. His political party was Democratic-Republican.

His other government positions were Member of Continental Congress (1783-86), United States Senator (1790-94), Minister of France (1794-96),Governor of Virginia (1799-1802), Minister to France and England (1803-1807), Secretary of State (1811-1817), and Secretary of War (1814-1815).


In 1816, the Presidental Election Results were the following:

James Monroe won 183 votes to 34 votes over Rufus King to become the president of the United States.

In 1820 James Monroe won 231 votes to 1 John Quincy Adams to stay president of the United States.

In December 2, 1823, Monroe Doctrine was delivered to Congress. James Monroe died July 4,1831,in New York.

Back to the index